St Thomas’, Winchelsea
The church building is an impressive bluestone structure, overlooking the Barwon River and historic arched bluestone bridge on the Princes Highway. Although church services were conducted from the 1840’s the first service in the existing church was not held until the 19th of January 1860.
The building can comfortably accommodate 150 people and has some very beautiful stained glass windows, especially those over
the communion table.
The church hall has a more contemporary feel and includes a stage, kitchen, meeting room and toilets, including a new disability access toilet with a baby-changing table and men’s toilet. This is where we run Mainly Music for local pre-schoolers and their support persons. The hall incorporates the remnant of the original church and school, this part being built in 1846.
St Thomas’ church is strongly linked to the Austin family, early settlers in
South-western Victoria and great benefactors to the State of Victoria, (The Austin Hospital and Austin Homes for the Aged).
St Thomas Anglican Church
25 Barwon Terrace WINCHELSEA 3241
St. Paul’s, Dean’s Marsh
This church is in the small rural township of
Dean’s Marsh in the foothills of the Otways. It
draws its membership from the local area, with all members living within 10 kms of the church.
The Anglican Church is the only church
still operating in Dean’s Marsh, the Uniting
Church having closed a few years ago. St Paul’s Dean’s Marsh is a small weatherboard building constructed in 1884.
Mr Ron Milliard, an Authorized Anglican Lay
Minister for 55 years, leads morning prayer services faithfully on the 2nd and 4th weeks of the month on other weeks the vicar celebrates the Lord's Supper with us.
St Paul’s Anglican Church
40 Lorne Rd DEANS MARSH 3235
Holy Trinity, Barrabool Hills (near Ceres)
Nestled on the side of a hill on 11 acres of land in the picturesque Barrabool Hills, close to the charming small village of Ceres and on the outskirts of Geelong is Holy Trinity Church, Hall and Vicarage. Three of its buildings are registered with Heritage Victoria.
The church building was constructed in 1884, using local sandstone, and replaced the original building of 1855 which had to be demolished.
The present church building has had
work done to rectify structural problems. Internally, it is very tidy and seats about
120 people. The hall is small, but very well appointed with disability-accessible toilet and a kitchen.
The beautiful old Vicarage is privately rented from the parish, the revenue assisting with the finances of the parish. Considerable costs were incurred by the Parish in the renovation of the house and some assistance was
obtained from Heritage Victoria.
The ruin of the Sunday School still
exists on adjoining land. The 1847 structure was one of the first boarding schools in
Victoria and has been partially restored.
Ceres village is a growing community and is fast becoming a suburb of Geelong and all the regional city has to offer. The new Geelong ring road also makes Holy Trinity conveniently close to many suburbs of Geelong including the newer estates of Highton.
Church viewings are by appointment only. To arrange your Holy Trinity church viewing please call (03) 5249 1148.
Holy Trinity Anglican Church
410 Merrawarp Rd CERES 3221
Melway reference 449 G8